

The Impact of Public Policies on Labor Markets and Income Distribution

CALL FOR PAPERS











AUGUST 21-23, 2018 | Tampere, Finland www.iipf2018.fi

The theme of the 2018 congress is **The Impact of Public Policies on Labor Markets and Income Distribution**. During the last few decades, the world has changed remarkably. Capital, people and goods move between countries at an unprecedented pace. In addition, violent conflicts have also caused increased international migration flows. At the same time, technological development has changed many aspects of everyday life, including how we earn our living. Today, governments all over the world strive at coming up with policies to face these challenges. But in order to implement the right policies, we need to learn about their effects. How do different ways of designing tax, social security and welfare systems affect labor supply and tax revenues? How can policies deal with the classical trade-off between efficiency and equity? These issues and more will be topics of plenary discussion.

Keynote speeches will be given by:

Gordon B. Dahl (Professor, University of California, San Diego, US)

Henrik Kleven (Professor, Princeton University, US)

Uta Schönberg (Professor, University College London, UK)

Petra Todd (Alfred L. Cass Term Professor of Economics, University of Pennsylvania, US)

CALL FOR PAPERS

Prospective contributors, both practitioners and academics, are invited to submit papers. While the congress theme is "The Impact of Public Policies on Labor Markets and Income Distribution," as is traditional at IIPF congresses, papers on any topic within the field of public economics are welcome.

Papers should be submitted through www.conftool.pro/iipf2018. Deadline for submissions is February 15, 2018.

The papers to be presented at the IIPF Congress will be selected by the Scientific Committee. Submitted papers should include an abstract and keywords. Only completed papers in PDF format will be considered. There are no submission fees for IIPF members. Non-members must pay a submission fee of €20.

Acceptance decisions will be communicated by early April 2018. Authors of accepted papers are required to become members of the IIPF and to confirm their presentation by registering before June 1, 2018. Payment of the annual IIPF membership fee also ensures a reduced registration rate. For more information about IIPF membership, visit **www.iipf.org/mbshp**.

Selected papers from the 2018 IIPF Congress will be published in a special issue of *International Tax and Public Finance*. To be considered for publication in this issue, papers must be submitted to the journal by September 18, 2018.

Authors who wish to be considered for the IIPF Young Economists Award, the IIPF Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize (both for authors under 40 years), or the *International Tax and Public Finance* PhD Student Prize should indicate this when submitting papers for presentation. More information on the awards is available at **www.iipf.org/awards**.

For more information on the congress, visit www.iipf2018.fi.

CHAIRS OF SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Claus Thustrup Kreiner (Center for Economic Behavior and Inequality, University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Eva Mörk (Uppsala University, Sweden)

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE MEMBERS

David R. Agrawal (University of Kentucky, US), Spencer Bastani (Linnæus University, Sweden), Jacob Bastian (University of Chicago, US), Massimo Bordignon (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy), Matz Dahlberg (Uppsala University, Sweden), Mikael Elinder (Uppsala University, Sweden), Jon H. Fiva (Norwegian Business School [BI], Norway), Francois Gerard (Columbia University, US), Joshua D. Gottlieb (University of British Columbia, Canada), Makoto Hasegawa (Kyoto University, Japan), Kristiina Huttunen (VATT Institute for Economic Research, Finland), Martin Jacob (WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management, Germany), Bas Jacobs (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands), Niels Johannesen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark), Shanjun Li (Cornell University, US), Benjamin B. Lockwood (Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, US), Jorge Martinez-Vazquez (Georgia State University, US), Linda Nøstbakken (Norwegian School of Economics [NHH], Norway), Andrea Repetto (Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, Chile), Kerstin Roeder (Augsburg University, Germany), Dominik Sachs (University of Munich, Germany), Melinda Sandler Morrill (North Carolina State University, US), Carlos Scartascini (Inter-American Development Bank, US), Alexander Sebald (University of Copenhagen, Denmark), Håkan Selin (Institute for Evaluation of Labour Market and Education Policy [IFAU], Sweden), Monica Singhal (University of California, Davis, US), Michael Stimmelmayr (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich [ETH Zürich], Switzerland), Ragnar Torvik (Norwegian University of Science and Technology [NTNU], Norway), Juuso Vanhala (Bank of Finland, Finland), Daniel Waldenström (Paris School of Economics, France), Binzhen Wu (Tsinghua University, China)

CHAIR OF LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Kaisa Kotakorpi (VATT Institute for Economic Research and University of Turku, Finland)

LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Essi Eerola (VATT Institute for Economic Research, Finland), Tuomas Kosonen (Labour Institute for Economic Research, Finland), Jani-Petri Laamanen (University of Tampere, Finland), Jukka Pirttilä (University of Tampere, Finland), Matti Tuomala (University of Tampere, Finland), Elina Tuominen (University of Tampere, Finland)